Current News: February 28, 2015

It seems like almost every week there are news stories that slam the public school. So when I can, I want to take a “Current News” story and give my little take on it. This week is a story about a boy who was given detention for being late to school.

This is the headline that was put out on Facebook by Fox News

6-Year-Old Forced to Eat Lunch Alone After He’s 1 Minute Late for School

Above the headlines was the following description:

Six-year-old Hunter Cmelo was one minute late to school because his mother’s car wouldn’t start. So as punishment, the principal forced him to eat lunch alone behind a cardboard divider.

First let me say this about the media, as much as I like Fox news, they are just as guilty of blowing stories out of proportion as the liberal media is. In fact I would say mainstream media as a whole loves to draw people using deceptive headlines and playing on emotions.

One thing we have to be careful of is judging this story as a whole story, there are two sides to the story, the boy and his families and the Principal of the schools. The story tells us the boy had been late several times and is blamed both on car trouble and on health issues. I can not say that the excuses aren’t viable, but the truth is, you can come up with all the excuses in the world, but eventually someone is going to have to take the blame.

In my personal opinion I believe there was more to this story than just a boy being late and being punished, maybe their had been other discipline problems, perhaps the parent had been warned of the child being tardy and the punishment that would ensue had he continued to be late. In the end I don’t think the principal was 100% wrong for punishing the child for his tardiness, but perhaps she could have punished in a different way.

What I have learned from this (and other stories like it) is we have a generation of people who villainize almost anyone who is in authority when they do something that goes against them or their child. This doesn’t mean that authority is always right, because as long as authorities are humans they will always make mistakes, however this does not give us excuse to disobey our perfect Authority who says “Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves:” Hebrews 13:17.
BTW this isn’t just a public school problem, this is a problem across the board, Christian School, Public School, College, Church, Work, any place there is authority there is this problem of little to no respect for the authorities that people have either been placed under or have chosen to be placed under.

I guess you could say I am a little old fashioned, when it comes to people who are in authority over my child, I will always stand on the side of the authority, and if I didn’t understand why they did what they did, then I would take time to find out their side of things. It doesn’t mean I always agree with everything an authority does, but it also doesn’t mean I have to go and make a spectacle out of it and tell everyone around me how much I disagreed with what the authority did. I certainly wouldn’t let my child believe for one minute that I don’t respect the authority placed over him. If a child sees that you don’t respect authority, how can you expect your child to respect you as their authority?

If a child sees that you don’t respect authority, how can you expect your child to respect you as their authority?

Leave a Reply

