Say No to the Phone: Lesson from week #2

I am sure there are a few lessons I could elaborate on from week #2, but I really just want to stress one thing that I learned and determined to do as a Father for the sake of my children.

Say No to the Phone

As a freelance graphic designer, I get request to call people or get phone calls at all hours of the day. Many times I end up doing work at hours that I would rather be spending time with my family, but I also know how important it is for me to work to provide for my family. With that said, spending and making time for my family is more important than working all the time.

Just the other day when I was waiting to pick up Aric from school, I had received a Facebook message from a client asking me to call them. My first instinct was to call them right that moment. I had been praying for work. I pray every week for 3 jobs to help us meet our financial needs. This was job #3 for the week! I must return the call, right? I decided at that very moment though, that making that call, and getting that job was not my priority at the time, spending time with my child was.

Say Yes to your Children

I looked down at the clock before making my decision. Aric would be getting out in just 5 minutes. Many times my phone conversations can last for 15-30 minutes or more depending on how much detail a client shares with me about their project. Knowing I only had 5 minutes before my son would be in the car, I decided his time was more important. I have since made a rule in my life, that unless their is an emergency (outside of my business), that I will not be on the phone at all while I am taking my children to school or when I am picking up my child from school. That 10-15 minutes on the way to school and on the way back home is a good opportunity to learn about my child’s day at school. It allows me to give instruction, pray with my children, and allow them to ask questions. It is so important for me as a Father to make sure that I make time for my children. I believe the Lord will bless me for saying “No to the Phone and Yes to my Children”.

What thoughts would you like to add to this short post?

5 thoughts on “Say No to the Phone: Lesson from week #2

  1. Anna J August 21, 2013 / 8:15 am

    I wish more parents would spend that time really talking to their kids…

    • sidmcbride August 21, 2013 / 8:31 am

      It takes discipline. But as a parent our children are more important than any phone conversation. It isn’t always easy to just talk with your child on the way home. With my oldest just being in Kindergarten, most of the time our conversations are pretty similar each day, but it is worth it when I am able to see my child growing and beginning to understand why those conversations are important.

      • Anna J August 21, 2013 / 8:36 am

        It makes my job a tiny bit easier when parents take the time or make the time to really talk to their kids… It means I get to teach them instead of counsel and parent them, too.

  2. Kate August 21, 2013 / 7:03 pm

    I love the priority you make of your family. What a profound investment and a demonstration of a huge trust in God – even to wait to take a call for work. Definitely wish more parents would do this!

    • sidmcbride August 21, 2013 / 8:54 pm

      It has been amazing the amount of testing that has come since I wrote this post, let alone published it today. Almost every day since I have written this post, the phone has rang right before I was supposed to pick up my son. The temptation is real, but I am enjoying the time I get to spend with my son on the way home, so it isn’t nearly as hard as it could be. Praying the Lord will help me keep this commitment to the development of my children!

Leave a Reply

