Recommended Reading

The night before I took Aric to his first day of school I posted on my Facebook account this statement, “So tomorrow marks the first day of Aric’s life at school. We have chosen to send him to our local public school. Some may think that this is a mistake, but in the end I answer to the Lord, and He has clearly guided us to this choice. I am looking forward to not only the impact that Aric can make at his school, but also the godly impact that we can make as parents.”

When we considered sending Aric to a Public School, there were some very well-meaning people who told us that we were making a mistake for sending him to a Government Institution. While it may be someone’s conviction that they would not send their children to a public school, to say it is a wrong choice for another parent is to cross a line that is not yours to cross. My wife and I have been convinced by the Lord, that at this time in our children’s lives, that the public school is what the Lord has set for our children to be a part of.

I am the kind of person that get’s easily excited or nervous, or both, and when I do so I have trouble either falling asleep, staying asleep or both. The night before Aric’s first day of School, I had trouble falling asleep. The morning of Aric’s first day of school I had trouble staying asleep, in fact I woke up at 5:30am and couldn’t get back to sleep. So I checked my FB, and saw I had received a message from a friend of mine with whom I went to college. He had sent me an encouraging note, and an article on why he has chosen to put his children into public school.

You can read his article here: http://baptistcitizen.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/we-put-our-children-in-the-public-school/

It is a longer article, but if you take an opportunity I believe you will be blessed. When you take opportunity to read it, leave your comments below.

2 thoughts on “Recommended Reading

  1. PATRICK COMBS August 6, 2013 / 4:26 pm

    Aaron your mom & dad & i went to public schools we turned out fine i think.i learned more about truth & the bible when i went away to college at Midwestern Baptist College in Pontiac Michigan when Dr Tom Malone was alive.

    • sidmcbride August 6, 2013 / 4:29 pm

      Yes I believe my Mom and Dad turned out great, and I am proud of my dad who is now teaching and trying to be a godly influence in a local public school!

Leave a Reply

