The Purpose of My Blog

As a Christian parent and Youth Pastor, I only want what is best for my children when it comes to education. Some would question this for the simple reason of my decision to allow my child to go to a Public Education Institute. It is your right to judge me on that if you wish, however my wife and I have spent much time seeking the Lord’s direction, when it comes to the education of our children, and I will give an account to Him and not you when it comes to how my children have been educated.

I do not believe that the road of education that we have chose for our children is the road that every parent will feel led to go, nor do I believe that every child has been given the ability to thrive in a Public School setting, and that is why it is so very important to seek God’s face when it comes to choosing what type of education your children will receive.

We live in a world where fellow Christians will criticize and self-righteously proclaim that sending a child to a public school is sin or unwise, but I believe that there needs to be a voice of reason and a voice of encouragement to those of us who have been lead by the Lord to educate our children through our local public schools.

My hope is that this blog will be a place of sharing advice and encouragement with fellow Christian Parents with public school children. Just because I am speaking from the platform of Children in Public School, doesn’t mean that any advice shared here will be exclusively for Public Education children, but can be practical advice for all platforms of education. I hope you will follow and chime in!

5 thoughts on “The Purpose of My Blog

    • sidmcbride August 5, 2013 / 10:11 pm

      So glad you will be reading. I am going to do my best to keep good content coming on here, both from me and from other parents who are sending their children to Public School. I think the Lord wants to do something great in our public schools, but it is going to take some strong Christian parents and strong Christian children, working together and encouraging one another to do it!

  1. Drew Lee August 6, 2013 / 10:24 pm

    Although our daughter is not old enough for school (3yrs), we are thinking about what our options will be. The main difficulty for us is that I am in the military and moving around every 2-3 years, so I’m still not sure if traditional school is the way we will go. It kind of seems that homeschooling would make sense for us. But, my main pet peeve with homeschooling (I was homeschooled for a number of years) is making sure that it is done right and through an accredited and legit curriculum. A lot of “Christian” homeschooling is a hodge podge of stuff and doesn’t really teach the child much or prepare them for college and/or a secular job. I’ve had a problem getting accepted into non-Christian universities because my high school diploma is not accredited. I am now working on my MBA and I quickly realized how much homeschooling did not prepare me for undergrad or graduate level education.

    Aaron, what was your impression of K12? We’ve looked at it some, but not real in depth.

    • sidmcbride August 6, 2013 / 11:30 pm

      The K12 program was what we would have gone with had we not felt the need for Aric to be in a classroom environment. Your biggest challenge you will find with K12 is it isn’t offered in every State but I would highly encourage you to look into it.

      The other good thing about K12 is if you do choose to later enroll your child in a traditional Public School is that it for the most part goes right along with the public school curriculum, so your children would not have to difficult a time with adjusting.

      (Added Comment) Two other reasons I really liked what I saw from K12 (at least in the State of GA).

      1)If I wanted my child to do the work at home, but also wanted them to be a part of say a band class or music class at their local school, because the K12 program goes through the local board of education, you could actually enroll your child in just those classes and teach the rest at home.

      2)When it came to the lessons with K12, let’s say that you came to a lesson that taught about the theory of evolution, you would be able to go through the lesson and teach why we believe in Creation as opposed to evolution, and it would all be considered part of the lesson time.

Leave a Reply

